alt alt alt

The Keep Arkansas Beautiful Commission inspires and educates individuals to prevent litter, recycle and keep Arkansas beautiful.

Created by Act 1278 of 1997, the Keep Arkansas Beautiful Commission operates as a division of the Arkansas Department of Parks and Tourism and is funded through the provisions of Amendment 75, the conservation tax. The Commission consists of nine members, two from each congressional district and one at-large position, who are appointed by the governor to six-year terms. The commission’s operation is directed by a staff of three and implemented statewide by volunteers.

The Keep Arkansas Beautiful Foundation is a nonprofit charitable and educational organization that relies on gifts and grants for its funding. The foundation's work consists of enhancing and advancing Arkansas' environmental quality of life by providing support to commission activities and events, as well as developing complementary programs to augment the shared mission to make and keep our state clean and green.

Keep Arkansas Beautiful is a state affiliate of Keep America Beautiful Inc., the nation’s leading community improvement organization for more than 60 years, and administers its network program for the state’s local affiliates and participating organizations. Keep Arkansas Beautiful routinely supports and partners with other state agencies whose responsibility also involve litter prevention, recycling and waste minimization, environmental preservation and community improvement efforts.


Dianne Hammond, Chairman
El Dorado
Representing Congressional District 4

Betty Shaw
, Vice Chairman
Representing Congressional District 1

Julie McQuade Heyes
Representing Arkansas at Large

Mark A. Elrod
Representing Congressonal District 2

Laurie Black
Lake Village
Representing Congressional District 1

John Pope

Van Buren
Representing Congressional District 3

Mary Joe Rogers
Representing Congressional District 4

Georgette Garner
Eureka Springs
Representing Congressional District 3

The Rev. Thurston Lamb

North Little Rock
Representing Congressional District 2


Robert Phelps
, Director
Elizabeth Philpott, Volunteer Services Coordinator
Brenda Halbert
, Administrative Specialist

Governor's Office Liaison

Clark Hall

Arkansas State Capitol